| (ed.) et al. (1983) |
Annual Reports of the Department of Community Development (Group Areas resettlement, squatter huts, housing completions) |
1961-1982 |
Supplies the figures on families resettled under the Group Areas Act, registered and demolished 'coloured' squatter huts, and Mitchell's Plain/Atlantis housing (Tables 1, 2, 4). |
| Abedian (1982) |
BEPA 1968 Interim Report on the Use of the National Accounts as a Basis of a Development Programme for the Economy of the Transkei |
1954/55 and 1959/60-1966/67 |
Supplies GDP by industry for 1954-1966/67, used to build the 1954-80 GDP time series and the public sector share. |
| Abedian (1982) |
Transkei Development Review 1981, Vol. 1, No. 2 (Department of Interior labour survey) |
1969-1980 |
Number of migrants and their earnings used for 1980 foreign factor receipts and the migrant time series. |
| Abedian (1982) |
Transkei Government Estimates ("This is Transkei", 1978) |
1959-1973 |
Alternative GDP estimates compared with BEPA/Dept of Statistics/BENSO and rejected as about 15% overestimated. |
| Anderson et al. (2001) |
School Register of Needs |
Not specified |
Mentioned as school-based data on school quality, drawn on via Case and Yogo and Case and Deaton. |
| Anderson et al. (2001) |
School records from the Ministry of Education |
Not specified |
Mentioned only to note that they provide little direct information on grade repetition. |
| Arndt (1928) |
Assembled branch and balance statistics (C. W. Pearsall, Statistical Bureau), Government Gazette bank returns June 1927 |
1914-1927 |
Provides branch counts and bank liabilities/assets underpinning the account of consolidation and concentration. |
| Aron and Muellbauer (2006) |
Public Finance Statistics (ownership of end-1969 government stocks) |
end-1969 |
Gives the 1969 benchmark for household holdings of short-term and long-term government stock. |
| Atkinson (2007) |
Demarcation Board population figures for Colesberg 1996-2001; Chase (1842/1967) Cape of Good Hope |
1842, 1996-2001 |
Illustrates the long-run shift from rural to urban population in a small Karoo town. |
| Beinart (1982) |
Reports of the Chief Inspector of Sheep, Cape (1896-1909) |
1896-1909 |
Source for sheep numbers in Pondoland. |
| Beinart (1994) |
Deeds Office records (computerised print-outs) |
present snapshot (c.1993) |
Snapshot of present farm ownership; historical ownership change had to be taken from interviews. |
| Beinart (1994) |
Department of Agriculture statistics, Glen College of Agriculture, unpublished statistical print-outs, 1991 |
1991 |
Establishes average farming unit size per district and that 80-90% of farming units were owner-occupied. |
| Beinart (1994) |
Land Bank figures on long-term loans, arrears and farms bought in (OFS and districts) |
1982-1993 |
Shows rising arrears, interest rates, and Bank-held farms as evidence of indebtedness and land potentially available for redistribution. |
| Bekker and Coetzee (1980) |
Peninsula Administration Board annual Labour Return (Consolidated Labour Returns, 30 June each year, 1974-78) |
1974-1978 |
Shows trends in the registered black labour force (permanent vs migrant) and its sectoral breakdown, including the June 1978 table. |
| Bell (1973) |
Department/Bureau of Statistics unpublished records (magisterial-district manufacturing statistics, 1956-7 and 1959-60, regional employment, output, wages) |
1934-5 to 1959-60 |
Basis for regional concentration tables, border/Bantu area contribution, earnings differentials and stage-of-production analysis. |
| Bell and Padayachee (1984) |
Government bond rate deflated by the South African consumer price index (base 1975) |
1959-1982 |
Used to construct the real interest rate series whose cyclical and long-term relationship with employment growth is examined. |
| Bell and Padayachee (1984) |
Registered unemployment of Asians, Coloureds and Whites, 1948-1983 |
1948-1983 |
Builds the non-Black registered unemployment rate (Fig. 3) to show a long decline to 1974 and a rise thereafter, which signals structural change. |
| Bendix (1989) |
Department of Manpower occupational structure projections 1977 and 1987 (Table 8) |
1977-1987 |
Illustrates rising projected demand for professional, artisan and skilled categories. |
| Best (1971) |
Permanent Committee for the Location of Industry, Report of Activities 1 January 1968 to 31 December 1968 (S. 40166, 1969) |
1960-1968 |
Source for state assistance totals (Table 1), border-area establishments, employment, investment and Bantu job-creation figures. |
| Bond (2004) |
City of Johannesburg 2004-05 Integrated Development Plan (2003 satisfaction survey, section 1.21) and Rees (2004) Samwu review |
2003-2004 |
Cited to dismiss the city's later survey showing 86% and 73% satisfaction as dubious. |
| Bond (2004) |
Johannesburg Water tariff schedule (2001) and author's own projection (Figure 2) |
2001-2003 |
Compares actual block tariffs with an ideal rising block tariff for a household of 10, to show the second block price hike. |
| Bonner (1995) |
Johannesburg Non-European Affairs Dept, Survey of the Western Areas of Johannesburg (1950) and other urbanisation-index studies |
1950 |
Cited among works proposing indices of urbanisation that the author critiques. |
| Bradford (1990) |
Department of Agriculture and Forestry, Farming Opportunities in the Union of South Africa (1936) |
1936 |
Source for the claim that high yields and low labour costs were the main factors for success in maize farming. |
| Brink et al. (1953) |
Statistical tables and counting machine from the Director of Census |
1952 |
Helped prepare the statistical tables used in the load/unload calculations. |
| Brits (1969) |
First Annual Report of the Transvaal Agricultural Department, 1907-8 |
1907-08 |
Cited for the 1908 Transvaal co-operative legislation. |
| Bromberger (1978) |
Registered unemployment figures / labour bureaux statistics |
1970s |
Discussed as an unsatisfactory source of unemployment data because many do not register or do not qualify. |
| Brookes (1924) |
1886 Return on industrial-institution pupils (Cape Legislative Council White Book, 1887) |
1886 |
Tabulated to show only about 25 per cent of trained Natives followed industrial trades. |
| Brookes (1924) |
Cape census of 1879 (Fingoland sheep) and 1849 missionary institutions return (White Book) |
1849-1879 |
Provides figures on Native-owned sheep (211,174) and occupations on mission stations. |
| Brookes (1924) |
Magistrate J. J. Field's 1897 Mapumulo comparison of Christian and heathen convictions (Natal Native Blue Book, 1898) |
1897 |
Table of criminal convictions used to rebut claim that Christian Natives are more criminal. |
| Cillié et al. (1980) |
Surveyors-General boundary descriptions and marked maps (Annexures 2 and 3) |
1980 |
Formal certified descriptions of the final electoral divisions by polling district, farm and township boundaries. |
| Cobbe (1986) |
Catholic Relief Services nutrition data and Food and Nutrition Information Bulletin 1 (1984) |
1979-1984 |
Shows persistent child malnutrition (16.0-32.7 per cent underweight) and rising food aid as indicators of vulnerability. |
| Cobbe (1986) |
Lesotho Department of Labour data on total mine workers and recruitment, and Bureau of Statistics, Kingdom of Lesotho, Annual Statistical Bulletin 1982 |
1967-1984 |
Provides total mine workers and derived average completed contract length in Table 1. |
| Cobbe (1986) |
Molapo, 'Implementation of the Third Five Year Development Plan', Central Bank of Lesotho Quarterly Review 3 (1984), plus retail price index tables |
1975/76-1984/85 |
Used for real government expenditure trends, expenditure composition (Tables 2, 3) and customs revenue share. |
| Cobley (2007) |
Department of Public Health Community Health Centres experiment |
1940s |
Jeeves and Phillips are said to discuss the experimental development of these centres. The review names no records. |
| Cornell (1960) |
Government figures on Bantu areas' share of Union land (end 1958) and on Bantu authorities established by 30 September 1959 |
1958-1959 |
Quantifies the area of reserves and the progress in setting up Bantu authorities. |
| Crankshaw (1996) |
My Career/My Loopbaan 1991 |
1991 |
Cited for post-matric certification requirements by professional associations to justify classification of sales occupations. |
| Crush (1982a) |
Colonial tax records used to calculate Swazi total population for the 'native requirement' |
early 20th century |
Described as the basis for the colonial state's population calculation when determining reserve size, not examined directly by the author. |
| Crush (1982b) |
Swaziland colonial tax records (used in the 'native requirement' calculation) |
c.1907 partition period |
Total population was calculated from tax records as part of the procedure for determining land needed for reserves; the paper reports this as state procedure rather than consulting the records directly. |
| Crush and James (1995b) |
Department of Local Government and National Housing (1991) and CSIR (1992) hostel bed counts |
1991-1992 |
Estimates the number of hostel beds and notes that residents cannot be counted precisely. |
| Crush and McDonald (2001) |
HSRC 1995 estimate and Statistics South Africa estimate of unauthorized migrants |
1995-2001 |
Contrasts the HSRC figure of up to nine million with the Statistics SA figure of about 500,000 to argue official numbers are inflated. |
| Curtis (1984) |
Labour bureau registration and allocation figures (van der Merwe 1969; Survey of Race Relations) |
1952-1981 |
Documents the number of labour bureaux and the growth in Africans allocated through them. |
| Davenport (1969) |
Municipal health reports for larger centres; annual reports of the Department of Justice (arrests and convictions) |
1950s-1960s |
Used to assert improvements in morbidity and infant mortality and to indicate the scale of pass and liquor law convictions. |
| Davies (1979a) |
Official vacancy statistics (April 1977) as reported by the Minister of Labour |
April 1977 |
Shows continuing shortages of 99,000 in professional, semi-professional and technical grades despite recession. |
| Davies (1979b) |
Official estimate of employer numbers (Minister of Labour) |
recession, c. 1977-78 |
Shows that employers declined from 41,000 to 39,000 yet skill shortages persisted. |
| Davies (1979b) |
Official vacancy statistics (April 1977) as cited by the Minister of Labour |
April 1977 |
Shows continuing shortages of 99,000 in professional, semi-professional and technical grades despite the recession. |
| Davies et al. (1976) |
State budget expenditure and agricultural assistance figures, 1927/8-1939/40 |
1927/8-1939/40 |
Shows the growth of state support for agriculture financed from gold mining taxation. |
| Davies et al. (1976) |
Union Statistics, Official Yearbooks, government committees and Commissions, House of Assembly Debates (general) |
1920s-1940s |
General base of empirical material for the article. |
| De Kiewiet (1941) |
Official trade, tariff, subsidy, and agricultural/state expenditure figures (Land Bank, irrigation, railways, exports) |
1910-1937 |
Documents agricultural state support, export subsidies and the limited results of agricultural planning. |
| De Klerk (1990) |
Central Statistical Services index of rural land prices (based on transfers of rural immovable property) |
1980s |
Used by the Department to adjust the land valuation after census data quality fell, affecting the real capital stock series. |
| Delius and Schirmer (2000) |
Soil Conservation Board Annual Reports (Fifth 1950-51, Seventh 1953-54, Eleventh 1960, Thirteenth 1959-60, 1965-66, 1968-69) |
1950-1969 |
Main data source for subsidies, works applications, number of farm plans and Board assessments of farmer behaviour. |
| Di McIntyre et al. (1995) |
Registrar of Medical Schemes (1993) annual report, year ending 31 December 1993 |
1982-1992 |
Medical scheme membership by race, expenditure by service, contributions per member and number of dispensing doctors. |
| Di McIntyre et al. (1995) |
van Wyk (1989) Personal Income of the RSA TBVC Countries by Population Group and Magisterial District, Report No. 183 |
1985 |
Ranks magisterial districts into income quintiles, the main unit of analysis of inequality. |
| Duncan (1993) |
Department of Public Health annual reports (UG 58-1948; 1936 report) and National Housing and Planning Commission Report (UG 45-1949) |
1936-1948 |
Housing shortfall estimates and 1947 assisted-dwelling figures; evidence of officials passing responsibility to municipalities. |
| Feinberg (1993) |
Transvaal African farm registration returns (Lands Department, Fischer's answers and corrections) |
1887-1913 |
Tabulates African farm purchases by period, showing acceleration after Union (179 in 1910-12). |
| Fine and Rustomjee (1996) |
Input-Output Tables (1984 and 1988) |
1984, 1988 |
Calculates inter-sectoral flows, import propensities, value added and the MEC's input/output cohesion, which underpin the definition of the MEC core. |
| Fine and Rustomjee (1996) |
Minerals Bureau data / South Africa's Mineral Industry Yearbook (SAMI) |
1979-1990 |
Gives raw and processed mineral production and export shares used to show continuing export dependence on the MEC. |
| George (2006) |
FSB data on unclaimed benefits; Registrar of Pension Funds annual report 2004 |
2002–2005 |
Figures on unclaimed benefits (R970 million, 967 funds reporting) and pension fund assets over R1 trillion. |
| Gidlow (2008) |
T.T. Mboweni, The South African banking sector: An overview of the past ten years, Pretoria, November 2004 |
1994-2004 |
Cited for the Reserve Bank view that other international banks could be interested in acquiring one of the big four. |
| Giliomee and Schlemmer (1985) |
BENSO Statistical Survey of Black Development (1978, 1980) |
1979-1980 |
Provides land-man ratios, land utilisation rates and agricultural contribution estimates by homeland. |
| Giliomee and Schlemmer (1985) |
Prime Minister's Economic Development Programme for the Republic of South Africa 1978-87 (1979) |
1977-1987 |
Projections of unemployment under 3.6 and 5 per cent growth. |
| Harington et al. (2004) |
Mining Statistics 1983, Dept Mineral and Energy Affairs, Republic of South Africa |
to 1983 |
Cited for the date of the gold discovery in the Transvaal. |
| Harries (1987) |
Natal Blue Books ('Agriculture' and 'Native Affairs' sections) |
c.1850s-1889 |
Supplies crop production and acreage, maize/sorghum prices, sugar prices, wages, implement counts and magistrates' reports on African farming. |
| Harries (1987) |
SNA 'Return of Natives entering and leaving the colony', 1881 |
1881 |
Source for the figure of over 3,500 Zulu workers entering Natal in 1881. |
| Harris (2002) |
National Archives of South Africa appraisal programme (5 per cent retention aim) |
c.1990s |
Illustrates that archivists preserve only a small fraction of state-generated records. |
| Harris (2002) |
State Archives Service holdings figures, 1995 (non-public records share) |
1995 |
Shows SAS subordinated collecting to management of official holdings. |
| Harris (2002) |
State Archives Service staff composition figures, 1990 |
1990 |
Shows the racial and gender composition of SAS professional and senior staff to evidence apartheid bureaucratic culture. |
| Hendrie (1976a) |
Department of Agricultural Economics and Marketing maize marketing estimates |
1970/71 |
Used as an external check on census production figures; reveals a 22% maize discrepancy. |
| Hendrie (1976b) |
Production estimates of the Department of Agricultural Economics and Marketing |
1973-1976 |
Cited as one of the few sources of information on recent agricultural developments. |
| Hindson (1987) |
Section 10 of the Urban Areas Act: distribution of Africans with residence rights by province, with statistical appendices |
1970s-early 1980s |
Reviewer notes the book supplies new data on the provincial distribution of Africans holding Section 10 rights, supporting its descriptive chapter. |
| Holland (1988) |
Africa Research Bulletin, September 1985 and February 1987 (Table 1: Indicators of Economic Dependence on South Africa) |
c. 1985-1987 |
Supplies trade, migrant labour, remittance, supply-dependence and GDP indicators in Table 1 showing regional dependence on South Africa. |
| Holland (1989) |
Southern African Labour and Development Research Unit, 'A Monitor of Minimum Wage Measures', Quarterly Bulletin (1986) |
1984-1986 |
Wage board and industrial council determinations used to show real minimum wages falling and that most labourer wage rates were below the SLL5. |
| Houghton and Dagut (n.d.) |
Statistics of Cost of Living, 1895 to May 1919 |
1895-1919 |
Gives actual cost of a family regimen and purchasing power of a sovereign for 1914-19. |
| Houghton and Dagut (n.d.) |
Statistics of the Transvaal Colony for the Years 1902-1907 (T.G. 25-'08) |
1902-1907 |
Source of the 1904 census population, revenue and expenditure, mining output, railway, trade, colonial finance and employment/salary tables. |
| James (1987) |
Table 1, Gold Production 1936-1948 (tons milled, fine ounces, grade), sourced to TCM Annual Reports |
1936-1948 |
Documents the fall in ore milled, gold output and ore grade during the war years. |
| John (2000) |
Bank of England Quarterly Bulletin (June 1985) and Federal Reserve Bulletin (June 1985) |
1984 |
Compares end-1984 British bank exposure ($5,600m.) with US banks' ($3,900m.). |
| Kaplan (1989) |
South African Post Office Annual Reports (telephone numbers 1977/8 and 1982/3) |
1977/8-1982/3 |
Supports the claim that the network expanded by almost 50 per cent after the digital decision. |
| Katzen (1962) |
Municipal and Divisional authorities' figures on Africans in registered employment, June 1962 |
June 1962 |
Gives 48,000 Africans in registered employment, used to derive 65% employment ratio and extrapolate 75,000 employed for the wider area. |
| Keegan (1985) |
Annual Reports of the Department of Justice, 1911-14 and U.G. 36-1919 (1918 report) |
1911-1918 |
Evidence of rapid land price inflation and the 1918 Vredefort magistrate's statement that the Land Act changed little. |
| Kok et al. (2006) |
Statistics SA Documented Migration 2001 (Report No. 03-51-03) and earlier Tourism and Migration reports (RSA 1976, 1977; CSS 1988, 1991) |
1974–2001 |
Provides counts of documented and skilled immigrants by origin and of Mozambican refugees accepted. |
| Lamont (1931) |
Provincial and district shares of maize production (10-year averages, European farms) |
10-year average, unspecified years |
Establishes the concentration of maize production in the 'maize triangle' and the districts served by elevators. |
| Lamont (1931) |
Union maize production, export and retained-for-consumption statistics 1924-25 to 1929-30 (Table I) |
1924-25 to 1929-30 |
Shows that Union maize consumption is stationary at about 12 million bags while exports swing widely, so surplus must go overseas. |
| Lemon (1984a) |
Ministry of Indian Affairs statement on 'Interprovincial movements of Indians', Fiat Lux, June-July 1975 |
1975 |
Cited for restrictions on Indian movement into the Orange Free State and northern Natal. |
| Lewis (1984a) |
British Kaffrarian returns of Xhosa locations, B.K. 109, Government Notice No. 19 of 1864 |
1864-1865 |
Gives population, households, cattle, sheep, ploughs and wagons for Xhosa locations in 1864, showing 18 households per plough. |
| Lewis (1984a) |
Returns of Inspectors of Native Locations, A100-1880 |
1879 |
Source for 1879 plough numbers (1 209) and sheep decline, set against 1865 and 1875 figures. |
| Lewis (1984b) |
Annual reports of statistics of production (1924/5 to 1929/30) |
1924/5-1929/30 |
Provides manufacturer complaints and employment figures for sweets, clothing, shoes and furniture in the 1920s. |
| Liebenberg (2012a) |
CeSTII National Survey of Research and Experimental Development (GERD) |
1966–2008 |
Gross expenditure on R&D used to place agricultural R&D within national science spending and compute intensities. |
| Lodge (1998) |
Provincial audits 1992-1993 (Cape Province, Transvaal) |
1992-1993 |
Quantifies frauds in white provincial administrations. |
| Lodge (1998) |
SAP Anti-Corruption Unit figures and police investigation counts, 1993-1996 |
1993-1996 |
Quantifies growth in police corruption investigations and allegations. |
| Mariotti (2009b) |
Population composition figures (Ballinger 1969; Statistics South Africa Mid-year Population Figures 1980) |
1969-1980 |
Gives the African share of the population against which occupational representation is benchmarked. |
| Mariotti and Fourie (2014) |
Presidential State of the Nation addresses, 1994-2014 (South Africa Government Online) |
1994-2014 |
Counts how often 'apartheid' appears in the addresses (20 of 25) and quotes Mbeki and Zuma to show apartheid's continuing salience. |
| Massey (1983) |
South African Chamber of Mines, Statistical Tables, 1977 |
1977 |
Source for the 1977 average cash and kind wage of black miners (R143/month). |
| McCarthy (1988) |
Central Statistical Services national accounts series on GDP, per capita GDP and manufacturing share of GDP, 1946-1985 (Figure 1) |
1946-1985 |
Establishes the rise and fall of the manufacturing share of GDP and its relationship to per capita GDP, used to test the S-curve. |
| McGrath et al. (2004a) |
Annual Reports of the Union Education Department (1925, 1928, 1938, 1941–45, 1946–7, 1952) |
1912–1952 |
Supplies institutional transfers (19 state and 23 state-aided industrial institutions in 1925), COTT training figures and policy statements on poor-white and black training. |
| McGrath et al. (2004a) |
Ntsika (1999) The State of Small Business in South Africa 1998 |
1997–1999 |
Table 6 distribution of enterprises by size and employment, showing 72 per cent micro and 43 per cent of employment in large firms. |
| McGrath et al. (2004a) |
South African Senior Certificate Examination 2001 data on agricultural science (Paterson & Arends 2002) |
2001 |
Table 4 shows 82 per cent of schools offering agricultural science to Grade 12 are in former homelands. |
| McGrath et al. (2004b) |
Devey, Skinner & Valodia (2003) informal economy; Statistics South Africa Labour Force Survey 2001 |
2000-2003 |
Cited for the informal economy's share of workers and unemployment rates. |
| McGrath et al. (2004b) |
National Business Initiative Quantitative Overview of the FET College Sector (Powell & Hall 2002) |
2000 |
Supplies pass rates, throughput, race and gender composition of FET colleges. |
| McGrath et al. (2004b) |
National Skills Development Strategy (DoL 2001a) and DoL NSDS Synthesis/Implementation/Annual Reports 2001-2002 |
2001-2003 |
Used for levy-payer counts, grants disbursed, learnership numbers and success-indicator progress in Table 5. |
| McGrath et al. (2004b) |
Ntsika/DTI (1999) The State of Small Business in South Africa 1998 |
1997-1999 |
Table 6 gives distribution of enterprises and employment by size. |
| McIntyre et al. (1995) |
Bourne (1994), analysis of 1990 mortality data from death registration |
1990 |
Potential years of life lost by cause and share of infectious/ill-defined deaths across income quintiles. |
| McNamara (1985) |
Department of Manpower, Report of the National Manpower Commission for 1981 |
1971-1981 |
Registered Black unemployment (Table 23) as backdrop to labour stabilization and job scarcity. |
| Moll (1993a) |
Central Statistical Service (1989) economically active population by sector |
1985 |
Denominator for the share of workers covered by industrial councils (Table 1). |
| Moll (1993c) |
BMR (1986) Income and Expenditure Patterns of Urban Black Multiple Households in Johannesburg, 1985, Research Report 130.9 |
1985 |
Cited for the survey response rate in the Soweto survey (only 14 of 440 households refused). |
| Moll (1993c) |
Central Statistical Service (1989) economically active population, p. 20 |
1985 |
Denominator for industrial council coverage rates in Table 1. |
| Moll (1996a) |
Real wage series for unskilled workers in Moll (1995b): Engineering actual wages and median of IC minima across sectors |
1970s-1990s |
Used to show covered-sector real wages rising between the 1970s and 1990s while uncovered-sector wages fell. |
| Moll (1996b) |
Department of Statistics, Education: Coloureds and Asians reports (08-04-01, 21-03-04, 21-03-09) and Education: Asians 1979 (21-03-13) |
1957-1979 |
Provides coloured and Asian pupil-teacher ratios and teacher qualification data for comparison with African schooling. |
| Morrell (1988) |
Annual Reports for Union Departments (UG21-1926) |
1926 |
Source for labour recruiting licence numbers and SAAU positions on state interference. |
| Nattrass (1976b) |
Transkei Government Department of Interior, Statistical Labour Report 1971 |
1971 |
Source for the industrial distribution of Transkeian migrants in Table 6. |
| Nattrass (1976c) |
Transkei Government Department of Interior, Statistical Labour Report 1971 |
1971 |
Source for the industrial distribution of Transkeian migrants in Table 6. |
| Nattrass and Seekings (2012a) |
Statistics South Africa, Manufacturing Industry: Financial Report, no. 30-20-30 (2008, published 2010) |
2008 |
Establishes the capital:labour ratios per job in manufacturing, in textiles/clothing/footwear and in apparel. |
| Neethling (1930) |
Estimate of value of agricultural production 1926-27 by W. A. Horrocks, Division of Economics and Markets |
1926-27 |
Gives maize as 14.4 per cent of estimated agricultural production value of £75m. |
| Neethling (1930) |
Maize production by province and district, 1918-27 (Tables I-III) |
1918-1927 |
Establishes the concentration of maize production on European farms and justifies choosing the Orange Free State districts. |
| Obi (2006) |
Department of Agriculture (2006) Economic Review of South African Agriculture 2005/06 |
to 2006 |
Used to note that net farm income continued declining after the sample ended. |
| Obi (2006) |
Directorate of Agricultural Economic Trends data (land values, farm area, number of farms, real estate debt, net returns to farming), 1955-1992 series used by Van Schalkwyk (1995) |
1955-1992 |
Supplies the original series from which real farmland prices per hectare, net farm income and farm debt are calculated. |
| Overseas Development Institute (1986) |
South Africa's Mineral Bureau forecast, October 1986 |
1986 forecast vs 1985 |
Supports the claim that excluding gold, mineral export gains from price rises are small. |
| Overseas Development Institute (1986) |
Statement of the Governor of the South African Reserve Bank, August 1986 |
August 1986 |
Authority for the claim that financial sanctions damaged the economy more than trade sanctions. |
| Overseas Development Institute (1986) |
Statements of South African Reserve Bank Governor (October 1986) and economic planners on required growth and current account surplus |
1986 |
Establishes the growth rates and external surplus needed to absorb job-seekers and repay debt. |
| Posel (2011) |
Department of Bantu Affairs statistical enterprise (work-seeker permits, service contracts, occupational register) |
1960s |
Used to illustrate the apartheid state's 'mania for measurement' and its disconnect from administrative practice. |
| Posel (2011) |
National Population Register / Race Classification Appeal Boards figures |
1950-1964 |
Quantifies classifications and appeals to argue that most people accepted their classification. |
| Posel (2011) |
Public service staffing figures (1950, 1967, 1970), via Posel 1999 |
1948-1970 |
Documents the growth of state departments and personnel alongside staff shortages. |
| Roberts (2009) |
COMBUD Enterprise Budgets – Natal Region, 1991–1995 (pineapple, Hluhluwe area) |
1991-1995 |
Table 6.4 per-hectare incomes and costs for pineapple production, used to show boom and decline in profitability. |
| Rodman (1995a) |
U.S. Department of Commerce, Foreign Economic Trends: Nicaragua (March 1986) |
1986 |
Cited for Nicaragua's payment failure and arrears figures. |
| Savage (1986) |
Aid Centre information, annually supplied (1972-81) |
1972-1981 |
Combined with prosecution figures to estimate that Aid Centres reduced prosecutions by 96,300 per year. |
| Simkins and Van Heyningen (1989) |
Cape of Good Hope Civil Service List, 1893 |
1893 |
Source for clerks' salaries in the civil service. |
| Simkins and Van Heyningen (1989) |
Report on Black Deaths 1979, Report 07-05-02 |
1979 |
Shows black death registration was under 50 percent complete. |
| Simons (1956) |
Convictions of Africans under Pass and Allied Laws, 1950-1955 (table by offence category) |
1950-1955 |
Shows the scale of African convictions under pass and allied laws, rising from 217,387 to 337,603 a year. |
| Sitas et al. (1984) |
UPE (University of Port Elizabeth) subsistence/poverty datum line reports, December 1983 |
1983 |
Provides current household subsistence minima (R236.65 to R370 per month) used as the poverty benchmark. |
| Stemmet (2002) |
Government security statistics on unrest incidents, deaths, detentions (1984-1987) via Le Grange papers, Indicator SA, Race Relations Survey |
Sept 1984-1987 |
Illustrates escalation and later decline of unrest through monthly incident counts, deaths and arrests. |
| Steward (2004a) |
Small Business Development Corporation figures on black small businesses |
early 1990s |
Cited to show a large black small-business sector by the early 1990s. |
| Steward (2004a) |
University and technikon enrolment statistics by race, 1993 (unnamed source) |
1993 |
Shows black university enrolment overtaking white enrolment as evidence of social change. |
| Steward (2004b) |
Small Business Development Corporation figures on black small businesses |
early 1990s |
Cited to show more than 625,000 small black businesses by the early 1990s as evidence of black economic advance. |
| Steward (2004b) |
University, technikon and teacher-training enrolment figures, 1993 (source unnamed) |
1993 |
Shows black undergraduate enrolment exceeding white enrolment by 1993 as evidence of social change. |
| Swilling (1985b) |
Weekly Mail, 13 Sept 1985 (Minister of Law and Order figures) |
June 1984-Oct 1985 |
Provides figures on deaths, injuries, arrests and detentions during the unrest and state of emergency. |
| Union of South Africa, Government Printer (1958) |
South African Reserve Bank Statement of Assets and Liabilities, 14 March 1958 (Notice No. 204) |
14 March 1958 |
Reports gold reserve, notes in circulation, government deposits and discounts; ratio of gold reserve to liabilities 38.0 per cent. |
| Van Vuuren (2006) |
Statistics cited on fraud complaints, economic crime costs and asset register (von Lieres; SA Chamber of Commerce; Dept of Public Works) |
1986-1997 |
Indicators of rising economic crime and unlisted state assets. |
| Van Zyl et al. (1987b) |
Abstract of Agricultural Statistics (Anon., 1986) |
1950-1985 |
Source for national farm employment and real gross capital formation growth rates (Table 1), farm numbers and sizes, employment, and the area under maize. |
| Van-Helten (1980) |
G. Paish, 'Great Britain's Capital Investments in Other Lands', Journal of the Royal Statistical Society, 72 (Sept. 1909) |
1907 |
Benchmark average 4 per cent return on British overseas portfolios in 1907, compared with Rand mines' return. |
| Verhoef (2009) |
South African Statistical Services statistics on life assurance (cited in Sanlam chairman's statement) |
c.1918 |
Showed that life assurance was dominated by foreign-incorporated companies, motivating Sanlam's founding. |
| Vink et al. (2012) |
Government budget figures for national and provincial Departments of Agriculture 1998 and homeland agricultural departments 1988 |
1988, 1998 |
Establishes that real state spending on farming in 1998 was 46% of the 1988 combined budget. |
| Wilkins and Strydom (1978) |
Immigration figures and fertility study cited in Broederbond circulars (1960 census figures; immigrant statistics 1966-67; March 1974 immigration report) |
1951-1974 |
Show the Broederbond's demographic worries over Afrikaner/English ratios and Catholic immigration. |
| Wotshela (2004) |
Archives of the Ciskei Department of Agriculture and Forestry, Statistics of the Technical Services Division for Ciskei Livestock Numbers 1981-1990 |
1981-1990 |
Supports the claim of overstocking against the official carrying capacity. |
| Wotshela (2004) |
Development Bank of Southern Africa, Ciskei Population Profile 1985; Ciskei government population census 1991 |
1984-1991 |
Population estimates for Hewu, which the author criticises as underestimates. |
| Zuberi et al. (2005) |
HIV antenatal clinic and adult prevalence figures (Department of Health 1999; Shisana and Simbayi 2002) |
2000 |
Regressed against provincial infant mortality estimates to test whether HIV explains the rise in infant mortality. |
| Zuberi et al. (2005) |
US life tables and vital registration documents (Glover 1921, Greville 1967, NCHS publications, NOVS) |
1900-1992 |
Comparative benchmark for how the US handled registration completeness in building life tables. |